• 2011 F1 Indian Grand Prix - Mercedes GP Preview

      The Buddh International Circuit, the newest addition to Formula One. This race is the first new race in four years (Singapore & Valencia 2008, Abu Dhabi 2009, Korea 2010). Formula One heads to new territory next week with the inaugural Indian Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2011 World Championship, taking place at the Buddh International Circuit on the outskirts of New Delhi, on Sunday 30 October. Designed by acclaimed circuit designer Hermann Tilke, the circuit cost $188 million to build and features a 5.141km long track that incorporates 16 corners and runs in a Clockwise direction.

      The race is expected to take place over 60 laps, although there has been no official confirmation. India has signed a ten-year contract with Bernie Ecclestone to host the grand prix, which experts believe could generate as much as $170 million in revenue and employ as many as 10,000 people.

      Michael is looking forward to race in India next week:

      “For the next race, we are heading to India for the first time; a country which a lot of people tell me is fascinating. I’m looking forward to experiencing this new culture and seeing the track for the first time. I am sure we will be impressed with what has been done there. There has been a lot of interest in the build-up to the event, and therefore hopefully we will entertain a lot of new fans in India.

      “I’ve always been happy to welcome new tracks on the calendar and enjoy the challenge of adapting to them. The outcome of the last race in Korea was unlucky for us, therefore I am extra-motivated to score some points next weekend, and reward the good work of the team.”
      Next week will be Nico’s first visit to India:

      “It will be very exciting for me to discover the new culture. I am planning to spend a few days in the country and looking forward to doing some sightseeing, particularly making a visit to the Taj Mahal. I hope the first race in India will be a great show for all motorsport fans there, and a big success.

      “I enjoy going to new tracks for the first time as I tend to learn them quickly, and it will be very interesting to set the car up as there will be so many unknown points. I hope to be able to fight in amongst the top six cars again, like during the last race in Korea, but this time hopefully I will be able to stay ahead of one of them until the end of the race.”
      Ross feels that the

      “Indian Grand Prix will be a new adventure for Formula One, and we are all looking forward to experiencing the country and the Buddh International Circuit for the first time next week. A tremendous amount of work has gone into the new venue and the preparations for this inaugural event, and the interest in India seems to be growing daily. In the second most populous country in the world, this can only be good for Formula One as we continue to expand our fan base by taking the sport to new markets.

      “The circuit itself looks to be an interesting challenge and we have been preparing back at the factory with circuit maps, simulations and models. You can do a great deal of work beforehand but nothing replicates the feedback from the drivers on their first laps out on the new circuit on Friday. With just three races remaining, we will be aiming to finish the season on a high and pushing hard to score good points at each one.”
      Norbert Haug says

      “MERCEDES GP PETRONAS is pleased and proud to be part of Formula One's visit to India and its inaugural Grand Prix at the Buddh International Circuit. India is a country with a rich cultural heritage which is admired and respected across the world, and it is also a country of the future: there is a vibrant, growing economy and, for Mercedes-Benz, a rapidly accelerating market for our cars. The Buddh International Circuit promises to deliver the excellent facilities we are used to at the most modern Formula One venues. It presents a complete challenge to the cars with a range of faster and slower corners, as well as long straights that may make the compromise between downforce and straightline speed delicate to find.

      “On the operational side, a new circuit levels the playing field somewhat between the teams and all of us must start from zero; however, it does provide an opportunity for our race team's operational excellence to pay dividends. We saw some signs of promising potential in the early stages of the last race in Korea, although this did not ultimately translate into the final results. But we will be aiming to build on this potential in India, and our team will keep pushing at every race this year to extract the maximum from our current technical package.”

      F1 TIMETABLE (New Delhi Local Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      10:00 - 11:30
      Practice 2 14:00 - 15:30
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      11:00 - 12:00
      Qualifying 14:00
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      15:00

      F1 TIMETABLE (Pacific Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      (Thu) 21:30 - 23:00
      Practice 2 (Fri) 01:30 - 03:00
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      (Fri) 22:30 - 23:30
      Qualifying (Sat) 01:30
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      02:30

      F1 TIMETABLE (Eastern Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      00:30 - 02:00
      Practice 2 04:30 - 06:00
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      01:30 - 02:30
      Qualifying 04:30
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      05:30




      This article was originally published in forum thread: 2011 F1 Indian Grand Prix - Mercedes GP Preview started by Scourge82 View original post
      Comments 24 Comments
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        And Vettel has ticked all the boxes again. Pole, fastest lap and the race win.
        Button was the only one pushing him
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        Vettel also broke another record this race. He now is the race driver who has led the most laps in a GP season.
        Beating the 1992 record of Nigel Mansell.
        Also winning 21 races of the 79 he ever started. How's that for a CV?
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Mercedes GP finished strong in the Inaugrual Indian Grand Prix. Michael Schumacher who started 11th on the grid finished in fifth place ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg. Schumacher at the start of the race was able to jump three to 8th by the end of the first lap and maintained a constant pace behind Rosberg.

        Before the second round of pitstops, Schumacher began to eat away at Rosberg's lead and brought the gap down to 1.5sec. While Nico pitted, Michael kept putting in his best lap times and after his stop, he emerged infront of Nico by 1.2 secs and maintained that gap to the end of the race.

        Sebastian Vettel dominated his way to his 11th win at the Indian Grand Prix. With 2 races left in the season, can Vettel match Nigell Mansell's record with 13 wins in one season? Vettel kept a comfortable lead ahead of Button, who managed to over take Webber and Alonso by the forth corner. Everytime Button set a fast lap, Vettel always answered back, by the end of the race, Vettel claimed the checkered flag, led every lap of the race, and set the fastest lap.

        Fernando Alonso took third after he leapfrogged Webber in the pits. Webber tried to attack back, but couldn't find a way past the Ferrari.

        Hamilton and Massa provided most of the excitement for this race. Again these two drivers managed to find a way to fight each other. On corner 5 on lap 24 a charging Hamilton dove to the inside and Massa shut the door and both collided, breaking both of the driver's wings. This time Massa was hit with a drive through penalty for the incident. Two laps after the penalty Massa hit the kurb on turn 9 and the result was a broken front suspension ending his race.

        Hamilton ended up finishing behind Rosberg in seventh place. Jaime Alguersuari, Adrian Sutil and Sergio Perez rounded out the the top ten and home favourite HRT's Narain Karthikeyan will be pleased with his 17th place, finishing ahead of team-mate Daniel Ricciardo.

        Michael Schumacher - 5th:

        "I am obviously happy about the race today. We achieved the maximum that we could hope for, and as a team we maximised our potential. Fifth and sixth places are a great result for us. On top of that, my car was very nicely sorted for the race and very stable. At the start, everything worked out according to my strategy as I deliberately didn't want to use KERS in the first two corners and save it for the long straight where I knew that I could make up some positions. In the second stint, I managed to maintain my tyres so I could stay out longer and that was enough for fifth place. What's really important at the moment is that we keep pushing and trying to improve, and that is what we achieved today. To the organisers of the first Indian Grand Prix, I would like to send a big compliment; I'm sure that I am not the only one to say that this was a very positive debut."
        Nico Rosberg - 6th:

        "We can be happy with a good team result and that's what the boys in the garage deserved. I'm also pleased to have gained one place on my grid position. However my strategy was not perfect today and I lost some time in the second pit stop which meant that I wasn't able stay ahead of Michael. I had good pace at the end of the race and pushed very hard but it was impossible to catch him over the last laps. I'm confident that we can repeat this good result in the last two races. All in all, it has been a good Indian Grand Prix debut for us and I hope all the fans enjoyed the race. I'm looking forward to coming back next year."

        Ross Brawn:

        "A very solid race from the drivers and team today, and we are very pleased to have achieved fifth and sixth places. Michael, Nico and the engineers did an excellent job to focus on getting the car right for the race, and making the best use of the tyres. We certainly got everything that we could out of our current car this weekend. It was an exciting race from our two drivers with Michael coming out on top this time, however you could see just how closely matched they are during the race. Nico's second set of tyres faded a little bit more on him whilst Michael was able to stay out longer which was enough to take fifth place. It was a very good result for the team today and I'm extremely pleased with how we have worked this weekend."

        Norbert Haug:

        "A strong result today for our team considering the possibilities that our technical package currently has. It is satisfying for everybody to extract the maximum and to achieve the best possible result. Our lap times looked consistent throughout the race which shows that we handled the tyres well and found a set-up which suited the track. Of course, our drivers did a very good job today. To come home in fifth place after starting in 11th is certainly satisfying for Michael. His start, when he gained three places, and his second long and consistent stint were decisive for him to get in front of Nico. He also did a good job today with both our drivers doing similar lap times throughout the race which shows that they achieved what was possible.

        This inaugural Indian Grand Prix was a remarkable event. This is a fantastic and challenging race track, and saw packed grandstands and great enthusiasm from the fans. Formula One could not have wished for more during the first race in a new country. So a big thank you to the organisers, the Jaypee Group, and to Bernie Ecclestone and FOM, who have worked very hard to make this new event happen. We now are looking forward to the next Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi, the home of our co-owners and partners aabar, where we hopefully can achieve a similar result. Fifth and sixth paces are not what we are ultimately striving for but it is satisfying to get the best possible results and we can build on that in order to make a good step next year."
        Full Race Results:
        Indian Grand Prix 2011





        Click here to enlarge
      1. Sticky's Avatar
        Sticky -
        ^ Thank you, great stuff as usual.