Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No

    Need help car shifts back to D on it's own

    So after i got my starter replaced and trans fluid done, at WOT in Manual Mode my car makes a woosh sound slows down and shifts in to Drive on it's won???? any idea? Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Won't it usually reset out of manual mode into D? I know the SL does it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Won't it usually reset out of manual mode into D? I know the SL does it.
    never done it now it does it in 3rd gear...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chi
    Posts
    1,399
    Rep Points
    1,170.1
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    make sure you have enough trans fluid in the car. Common mistake is checking the level when its not warmed and NOT IN DRIVE. The torque convertor holds a lot of fluid and car must be checked for level when its in drive. You could be a quart low and it will measure correctly in P.
    Eurocharged Performance
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST E55 - 10.46 @ 134.42
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST C32 - 12.33 @ 115.08

    Locations in Houston - Chicago - Boston - DC- Toronto - Hong Kong - South Africa
    Over 30 other dealer locations around the word

    Sales@eurocharged.com

    Over 7000 customers strong!

    Proud tuning partners of Underground Racing!

    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    car is fixed! it was the CRANK POSITIONING CENSOR!!!! THE SAME THING I TOLD MERCEDES TO REPLACE!!! GUESS WHAT THEY DIDN'T! so now i had to pay for it out of pocket instead of warranty.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    car is fixed! it was the CRANK POSITIONING CENSOR!!!! THE SAME THING I TOLD MERCEDES TO REPLACE!!! GUESS WHAT THEY DIDN'T! so now i had to pay for it out of pocket instead of warranty.
    You should be able to get them to reimburse you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    FLASE ALARM! issue still there... it starts at 5000 rpm when im at WOT.... no codes come up of any kind... checked transmission fluid all good. checked if pulley is torques all good. But i have already replaced 2 belts with in a month both look very worn down...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    FLASE ALARM! issue still there... it starts at 5000 rpm when im at WOT.... no codes come up of any kind... checked transmission fluid all good. checked if pulley is torques all good. But i have already replaced 2 belts with in a month both look very worn down...
    Try asking Eurocharged, I wish I could help but I have no idea what is causing it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    its weird if i dont smash my paddle all the way in and just keep pressing it in steadily car pulls with out the issue and shifts every time but if i mash it in just a little hard at 5k rpm it makes a loud screetching or whistle noize and slows down... could it be my MAF? not getting AIR reading correctly? or is it my Torque Converter dying??

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    its weird if i dont smash my paddle all the way in and just keep pressing it in steadily car pulls with out the issue and shifts every time but if i mash it in just a little hard at 5k rpm it makes a loud screetching or whistle noize and slows down... could it be my MAF? not getting AIR reading correctly? or is it my Torque Converter dying??
    I would lean toward the torque converter but I don't really know. Might be time to take it to the dealer...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I would lean toward the torque converter but I don't really know. Might be time to take it to the dealer...
    i did ....no codes what so ever and you know how dealers are no code no problem.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    i did ....no codes what so ever and you know how dealers are no code no problem.
    I want to help you get this resolved so all I can suggest is trying Eurocharged if the dealer won't help or maybe a Merc specialist of some kind.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chi
    Posts
    1,399
    Rep Points
    1,170.1
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Really sounds like the tcu/ecu is shutting down power (limp mode) to protect itself. I would say its either low trans fluid (make sure to check when in drive like I had said) or your tq convertor is on the way out. Do you have access to the mercedes STAR computer?
    Eurocharged Performance
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST E55 - 10.46 @ 134.42
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST C32 - 12.33 @ 115.08

    Locations in Houston - Chicago - Boston - DC- Toronto - Hong Kong - South Africa
    Over 30 other dealer locations around the word

    Sales@eurocharged.com

    Over 7000 customers strong!

    Proud tuning partners of Underground Racing!

    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    I took my car to Mercedes they ran Star and no codes came up, then i took to a local Mercedes mechanic shop they scanned nothing came up, checked fluid in drive all good....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chi
    Posts
    1,399
    Rep Points
    1,170.1
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    I took my car to Mercedes they ran Star and no codes came up, then i took to a local Mercedes mechanic shop they scanned nothing came up, checked fluid in drive all good....
    im not doubting what you are saying in the least bit, but I hardly doubt there were no codes in the tranny section of star. Sometimes they don't know where to look. If the damn car as much as hickups it logs an event (won't throw a cell however) I have seen cars that have a ton of codes from previous owners still stored.

    way odd....I still am leaning toward torque convertor but there should be a code.
    Eurocharged Performance
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST E55 - 10.46 @ 134.42
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST C32 - 12.33 @ 115.08

    Locations in Houston - Chicago - Boston - DC- Toronto - Hong Kong - South Africa
    Over 30 other dealer locations around the word

    Sales@eurocharged.com

    Over 7000 customers strong!

    Proud tuning partners of Underground Racing!

    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Mechanic at mercedes is my friend and he said not a single code showed up, Owner of Mercedes Repair shop also is a friend and he said not a single code came up...

    here is sound clip i recorded inside my engine bay this only happens after 3rd at 5K RPM gear 1st and 2nd has no issues, please skip the video to 3:20 and listen for the screetching sound. Maybe this will help people know what it is, also 2nd brand new belt is already showing sign of threading and wear.



    Thank you.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    le Paris
    Posts
    6,648
    Rep Points
    -162.0
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    3:20 man that really sounds $#@!ed-up, I was going to post "screw the sound" but it seems you can't screw it easily.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    i wouldnt care if it was just a sound but it's causing my car to slow down.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chi
    Posts
    1,399
    Rep Points
    1,170.1
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    wow, thats an odd one...almost sounds like your clutch packs are done....
    Eurocharged Performance
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST E55 - 10.46 @ 134.42
    Tuner of the WORLDS FASTEST C32 - 12.33 @ 115.08

    Locations in Houston - Chicago - Boston - DC- Toronto - Hong Kong - South Africa
    Over 30 other dealer locations around the word

    Sales@eurocharged.com

    Over 7000 customers strong!

    Proud tuning partners of Underground Racing!

    Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    106
    Rep Points
    148.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    did you check the pulleys maby one of them is defective and causing the belt to slip

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LAF motor sports Click here to enlarge
    did you check the pulleys maby one of them is defective and causing the belt to slip
    shop looked at them but didn't really find anything i will be taking the car in this week again and ask them to check all pulleys the issue happens only after 3rd gear at 5k rpm and WOT if i keep throtle at 50% the car pulls very good with out issues.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    so me and a few people think it's the belt slipping... because how fast it gets damagad after being replaced...

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,488
    Rep Points
    32,174.7
    Mentioned
    2112 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blkclk550 Click here to enlarge
    so me and a few people think it's the belt slipping... because how fast it gets damagad after being replaced...
    So what is causing the belt to constantly slip?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    152
    Rep Points
    160.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Take it back to the shop and have them take a look at your transmission adaptation data with STAR. +1 on what Eurocharged said, even the slightest slip or problem will be recorded there. I mean when the damn interior light goes out it stores it there so there should be something. If there are no errors then it's not the transmission.

    When the ecu/tcu comes in and stops something (for example torque limiting) you will see a code. Just look at your tranny adaptation data and post it here.
    Click here to enlarge

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,157
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    we ran every test possible had it hooked up at the shop and at MB and nothing came up... i will be replacing all my pulleys also waiting for AMS to send me a new one, it could be the belt tensioner that is failing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •