Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Yes Reputation No

    PerformanceBox issues?

    Forgive the colors and poor editing, but this was copied straight from my post on Racelogic's forums.

    My original unit had no issues showing data with negative height (below sea level). This new unit (newest firmware, newest Performance Tools software) will not show height below 0ft. Being that it accurately picks up satellites and has no issues reporting actual speed, I believe this to be something in the firmware that may have been changed from my old unit to this new unit. If it simply did not pick up an accurate speed I would say the unit is defective, but it doesn't seem to be the case.



    Is this something that was implemented in later firmware? If so, is there a way to enable negative height? Being that this unit sees a lot of duty doing 60-130 runs below sea level, it would be rendered useless for my needs if it cannot read negative height.

    Worst case scenario, is there a way to backdate to an older firmware that had this feature enabled? Many thanks in advance.

    -edit

    After pulling up an example log in PT, it appears that relative height appears to be somewhat accurate, but actual height isn't. Leaning more towards firmware change than anything else.

    Click here to enlarge

    -edit2

    Dug up a Pbox log from my old unit, notice how height is negative as it should be, yet there is no relative height even logged on this unit. Does this mean that relative height on this new Pbox = just "height" on the old one?

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,771
    Rep Points
    31,787.9
    Mentioned
    2084 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    318


    Yes Reputation No
    Moved to general automotive.

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,485
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    its something with the graphing/scaling. Mines old f/w but if i played with a few settings it would dissapear as well. on the first graphi dont see the green scale at all. im sure its a user adjustement issue

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    its something with the graphing/scaling. Mines old f/w but if i played with a few settings it would dissapear as well. on the first graphi dont see the green scale at all. im sure its a user adjustement issue
    Yeah, waiting on Racelogic to tell me how to fix that. The issue is the altitude reporting on the actual Pbox itself which I believe to be firmware related.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    616
    Rep Points
    629.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Funny you mention this. I just ran a 60-130 on my normal road which is pretty much dead flat, yet it is showing the altitude being all over the place. Doesn't make sense it has always been dead flat on all my other vbox graphs. Weird.

    BTW it was a 6 second flat. Not too shabby for my 2nd lowest boost setting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,771
    Rep Points
    31,787.9
    Mentioned
    2084 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    318


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 930chas Click here to enlarge
    BTW it was a 6 second flat. Not too shabby for my 2nd lowest boost setting.
    Uh no... definitely not.

    Which car is this again? I have trouble keeping track of what car you have this week. This would be the E46 M3 correct?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    616
    Rep Points
    629.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    Haha. Yes. This is the one I bought from Jason Siebels. It is definitely a quick car. Lots of fun to drive.
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,485
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 930chas Click here to enlarge
    yet it is showing the altitude being all over the place.
    this is what ive been saying for a while now.. the altitude is $#@!ed up, i use the same stretch, map it onto google earth to get a 2nd opinion on elevation, and its never the same. some of it has to do with how many satellites it picks up, or in my case an overpass nearby, but its never the same, even if i just drive it over and over.. Hence why i went on a rampage about how to "play" with vbox % data

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    125
    Rep Points
    246.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Yes Reputation No
    so was it a firmware issue?

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •